EC&I 833

Are Our Kids Ready for a Virtual World When They Have Yet to Experience the Real World?

“Most people who interact with AR for the first time have a mind-blowing experience…” – Augmented Reality Brings New Dimensions to Learning

Much like Erin and Jayme explained in their posts this week , if I was asked to explain augmented reality  (AR)to someone I would have related it to what I know about video games and those “cool things” people wear on their faces. I have a pretty limited understanding and to be quite honest, very little interest in video games. So, much like Erin I completely skipped over the augmented and virtual reality (VR) section at the beginning of class. I should have known better!

Many of my #eci833 classmates this week have shared fabulous examples of the opportunities that AR & VR can provide not just gamers but the students who are walking into our classrooms every day.  We have the opportunity to share experiences from around the world with our students just by downloading an app! With the download of an app we can connect our students to places, different languages, real world events and so much more! It also doesn’t take much more than typing a few words into google to learn about how to go about implementing AR into your classroom. I always enjoy checking out what @TeachThought is sharing about what’s happening in education today. I found it interesting that in their post 32 Augmented Reality Apps For The Classroom From Edshelf  a couple of the apps that were discussed in class this week are found on the list from this past summer. As educators we would be remiss if we were to deny the potential for learning that AR and VR provide.

However, I do have one question….

Are our students experiencing enough life in the real world to be ready for a virtual one?

30383052464_0c8b3de899.jpg

Photo Credit: Zaidon Resident Flickr via Compfight cc

I am certain of one thing, I do not have the answer to my own question but I do think it is a question we need to consider. I tend to approach most topics from a very primary perspective and try to remind myself that I need to think beyond the K-2 classrooms that I know and understand, as often as I can. That being said I do believe it is important that we consider some of the possibly negative impacts of AR & VR that are possible when talking about education.

Prior to doing some exploration around AR and VR I didn’t realize that there is an age limit placed on some of the devices that allow one to experience AR and VR. I wonder if this is being considered in the conversations around implementing AR and VR into classrooms.

Curious to know more yourself? Check out a few articles that I came across in my search to trying to answer the question above:

Much like I mentioned earlier, I don’t deny the positive implications that AR & VR can provide our students but I do also think we need to look at whether or not our students are ready for a virtual world when they have yet to experience so many things in the real world.

I am curious to know if any of my other classmates or colleagues have found themselves considering the concerns I have mentioned today.

 

6 thoughts on “Are Our Kids Ready for a Virtual World When They Have Yet to Experience the Real World?

  1. It’s always good to give pause and think about both the good and the bad. I know that my blog this week was very optimistic, and I am, but one thing I thought of that I didn’t discuss is are our brains able to handle a whole bunch of virtual reality? I remember reading that 3D movies and t.v.’s in excess could possibly be bad for us. I didn’t read much into it as I don’t watch much, if any, 3D programming, but it’ll be important to study this.

    1. I think optimism is a great thing and I try to be that way as much as I can. I struggled with using the words good and bad in my post but couldn’t come up with something different that I liked and felt fit. You make a great point about being cognizant of how much our brains can handle. I think this is especially important when we are discussing our students as their brains are still very much developing. Definitely an interesting topic this week. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Nicole, I loved the title of your blog post this week. Thanks for bringing in another perspective of VR and for linking to those articles with more information about the negative side of VR. I think it is really important to consider the long-term physical and social effects that technology has on humans. Because technology is developing at such a rapid pace I think it will be difficult to measure these things and we may not be able to predict negative effects.

  3. I definitely have had similar thoughts to yours this week and I can absolutely relate to approaching everything with a “primary lens”. Many of my students are over-stimulated and often anxiety stricken at such a young age and I often think we need to tune back into “reality” and become more grounded in our surroundings. For this reason, I also question whether VR and AR is appropriate for young learners. I agree that there are so many benefits but I question if these experiences have the potential to distort children’s view of reality.

Leave a Reply

