EC&I 831 · Major Project

Learning is a Process – Who knew?

I am feeling a little stuck when it comes to my major project for the term. I have done some experimenting and have begun to take pictures to experiment but am feeling like I am not gaining a lot of ground. It’s possible that I might not be allowing myself the time to grow and get to know my camera! I am trying to remember that and enjoying the journey.

shutter speed tip
Photo via Our Fifth House

This week my goal was to begin to understand shutter speed. I quickly discovered that shutter speed and aperture went hand in hand but what I didn’t understand was what they were, how they worked and how I could control them. I  started with a few of the spaces that I have begun to collect information around photography. I added a few new pins to my photography board on Pinterest. I really like the quick and concise “quick tip” pins that you can find on Pinterest. I’ll talk more later about how those are perhaps giving me a false sense of growth!

 

 

I know that I am a visual learner and need to be hands on. From there I headed off to the Mike Browne’s YouTube channel to help me better understand shutter speed and aperture. When I had read the post from Our Fifth House, that I found through Pinterest, I really enjoyed that she said to just start playing. So that’s what I was going to do, I mean how hard could it be really? I had checked out tons of pins on Pinterest and read all the quick tips I could. I’ve got this I thought!

Did anyone else watch that and feel like he was perhaps speaking another language? I felt so lost after watching that video and felt like somehow I had failed. Truthfully though, how hard had I really tried to understand that I was about to explore? I had fallen into that trap of wanting instant gratification and needed to rewind a little. This is going to take me time and I need to find a space where I am comfortable with being involved in a process. Working on it!

If you’re following along on my project, you’re going to notice a little bit of a theme. I really enjoy cooking and decorating and will likely always have pictures that relate to those two things! So that night, I decided to get supper cooking, watched the video again along with a couple others specifically about shutter speed and aperture on their own.  As supper cooked it snapped away, trying to adjust the settings on my camera in different ways and see that results that those adjustments made. I certainly noticed that the adjustments made changes to the photographs but now I need to understand the meaning and purpose behind those adjustments. 

Check out my Flickr album for shutter speed and aperture and let me know what you think!

Shutter Speed and Aperture

I was kind of feeling defeated after this little amateur photography session but I know that learning is a process and doesn’t happen all at once. I mean, was I expecting to be a professional photographer in a matter of a couple  months? I needed a bit of a reality check to get myself back on track and be realistic with my learning. This week I had the opportunity to visit a friend who works as a photographer on the side and sat in on a photo shoot that she did. Stay tuned for my reality check and highlights of my experience in the next blog post!

4 thoughts on “Learning is a Process – Who knew?

  1. I think it’s easy to sometimes feel like we aren’t making a lot of progress, I feel the same way too. But like you said, it’s all about the process. It’s pretty hard to learn something new overnight or by watching one or two videos. It takes practice and more importantly TIME! Something that I am finding I am struggling to find sometimes. I tried to access your Flickr page but the link didn’t work. You might have to make it public or try fix the link somehow. Keep at it! It will come eventually. I’m hopeful it will come for me too!

  2. Hey Gals,

    I feel the same way, but I am a ‘build Rome in a day’ kinda gal so my expectations are that I should know fluid German already, but you are very right Miss Reeve – learning is a process. So, to me, if I am learning one new German word a day that is progress. As long as you are open to learning, networking, and learning a little everyday – you are learning. Go take some outside pictures Miss Reeve. Natural light is the best!

Leave a Reply

