EC&I 831 · Major Project

Photography Adventures – ISO

So, what did I learn this week? Well I learned that there is a lot to learn when it comes to understanding photography. I am excited for the challenge but am quickly realizing the learning curve here is going to be quite huge! I shared last week that I was going to begin by following this cheat sheet I had found about the three lessons a beginning photographer needs to know. First step, learn what shutter speed is and how to it.

I started googling and pinning but felt quite overwhelmed with the vast amount of information I was finding. A few of the articles I read suggested that understand ISO was the place to start before shutter speed. Phew, okay I will start there then! Did I mention there is a vast amount of information out there? I began by reading ISO Settings in Digital Photography  from Digital Photography School that helped me first understand what ISO even means and from there it explained a bit about understanding ISO. I have a feeling that this website will be a good resource as I move forward. I am not sure if I have started in the right place but I have started learning and that’s what I need to go forward!

So far I have figured out that when deciding on what ISO level you will need, you need to understand the light that you are taking your photograph in. I had read a lot of articles but left each reading confused. That was until I found the video below to help clear up some of the muddy waters for me! This is the best and clearest resource I have found so far! I am now subscribed to Mike Browne’s YouTube Channel and will continue to use it to help me throughout my project. I really like that he was concise and to the point!

As we all know, some of the best learning happens through practice! I pulled out my camera and decided to play around with the ISO settings. My goal throughout the next week is to continue to explore ISO and document the differences I see in the different levels. Also, I need to find a way to store my photos in a way that makes them easy to share here on my blog. Any suggestions!

For now I share with you some of my exploring from today!

 

One thought on “Photography Adventures – ISO

  1. It really is crazy how much information is out there. That is why personal learning networks can be so affective!

    You have a cute pup there. I am looking forward to seeing the rest of your project

Leave a Reply

